Kremerata Baltica and Gidon Kremer Tours South America

The beginning of summer for Kremerata Baltica is marked by an exceptional tour in South America together with their artistic director and soloist Gidon Kremer. The orchestra is re-visiting the continent after ten years, starting in Brazil with concerts in Rio de Janeiro and São Paulo, also performing in Uruguay, Argentina, and Chile.

Balint Hrotko

© Balint Hrotko

Audiences of Rio de Janeiro and one of the concerts in São Paulo will enjoy a program “Serious (and light) seasons”. This program contains Ludwig van Beethoven String Quartet in F minor, op. 95 (version for string orchestra by Gustav Mahler) – a piece with which Kremerata Baltica has opened a festival of it’s resent tour in Germany; Robert Schumann Concert in a minor for violoncello and string orchestra op. 129 – the first big composition of R. Schumann, that will be performed in the arrangement for violin and string orchestra by French composer Rene Koering; Alexander Raskatov “The Seasons’ Digest” – a re-working of Tchaikovsky’s piano cycle The Seasons op. 37a for string orchestra, violin solo, percussion and prepared piano in a ‘digest’ form; Astor Piazzolla “Cuatro Estaciones Porteñas” (Four Seasons of Buenos Aires) – a composition that received it’s recognition in 1996-1998 when the Russian composer Leonid Desyatnikov created his arrangements for Gidon Kremer making link between Vivaldi and Piazzolla by converting each of the pieces into three-section pieces, re-arranging for solo violin and string orchestra.

Further tour concerts will be enriched by more valuable works: Concertino for Violin and Strings – written during the fateful year 1948 which is surely one of the finest pieces of M.Weinberg – or any of his Soviet colleagues for that matter – managed to compose in 1948. This charming and lyrical work has an innate simplicity and structure, and is the sort of music you can just sit back and enjoy. Maestro Gidon Kremer will be joined by Giedre Dirvanauskaite (violoncello) and Andrei Pushkarev (vibraphone) for Georgian composer Giya Kancheli piece “Silent Prayer” that was written on the occasion of Gidon Kremer’s 60th birthday and Mstislav Rostropovich’s 80th birthday in 2007 and where familiar G. Kancheli’s themes crystallise in the prerecorded singing of a young singer Sofia Altunashvili.  

Second half of concerts is marked by a special project program that was recently performed in Europe with video projections of paintings by a renown Russian painter and philosopher Maxim Kantor, based on M.Mussorgsky – “Pictures at an Exhibition” (version for string orchestra by Jaques Cohen made in 2009). It will be performed with P. Tchaikovsky/L. Desyatnikov – “Serenade Melancolique” op.26 as a prelude (composed by P. Tchaikovsky in 1875 and arranged for violin and strings by L. Desyatnikov) and as an ending note  – Serenade for violin solo” by Ukrainian composer V. Silvestrov, written in 2009 and perfectly reflecting composer’s instrumental music style – always richly infused with both logical and melodic tension. 

Below you can find the calendar of the tour or visit our Events section.

June 18 – Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

June 21 – São Paulo, Brazil

June 22 – São Paulo, Brazil

June 23 – Montevideo, Uruguay 

June 25 Buenos Aires, Argentina

June 26 – Rosario, Argentina

June 28 – Santiago, Chile

June 29 – Santiago, Chile